Mariam David-A
3 min readJun 9, 2021

Story of My life: Episode1

I LOST my life years ago, but thank God He restored me. I was about 19 years old and was a student in the College of Education (Lagos, Nigeria).

It was the weekend before the end of our second-semester exam and I was at the hostel, couldn’t focus on my revision study as I was feeling headache and had a running stomach;

couldn’t digest any meal; I visited the school clinic but couldn’t take in the drugs administered as I also felt nauseous, at that time I called home and since my aunt's place was closer to the school, she sent my older cousin to pick me (to her place).

The next day, I was taken to the hospital on emergency as I couldn’t take in any food, was stooling and throwing up simultaneously,

tears freely flowing down my cheeks uncontrollably and I was as tiny as a skeleton, in pains, gasped for air, and was so thirsty like I have never felt before!
When I tried requesting water, no one including myself could hear my voice;

they could only read my lips even though I spoke with all the strength I could muster; in a blurred vision I could see the health workers were running from end to end of the ward, some nurses screaming “get the water for her, don’t worry baby girl just hold on for me;

she is bringing the water.” While they were trying to fix a drip and get blood from my body to run a test.

At that time; I felt excruciating pains, still saying; “water, I need water!” The nurses hadn’t found a spot/vein to fix a drip/draw blood from, my aunt was in tears. Then my body felt numb to the piecing of the needles,

I lost consciousness of all that was happening; all I saw was a memory of my life, displayed in my mind’s eye like a fast movie flash from as far as I could remember as a child to that very moment of laying on the sick bed and then blackout! Immediately, fromwithin my spirit,

I cried out to God “Lord I feel so much pain! Father, is this the end of me on earth?” And I heard a voice (I believe it was my creator-God) He said; “You can’t come home now; you still have a lot to do on earth.”

At that moment, I felt the piercing of the needles from the nurses, screamed out loud, and jacked back to life!

Heard my aunt saying in tears and bewilderment; “Mariam you actually died but thank God you came back to us!” I cried in awe of God’s love, mercy and grace.

The point here is;

God never gives up on us and you can only have the opportunity to make a positive impact when you keep hope alive. And always remember that your being alive is not a mistake; it’s purposeful.

I finally graduated from college and seized opportunities to add value.

#storyofmylife #encounters
#opportunity #positivityiskey #Testimony #Thanksgiving
#mariamdavida #love #grace #life

Mariam David-A

Christian Writer | Counselor| Productivity & Soft-Skill Coach | Digital Transformation Consultant | Empowering Christians for success in Faith and Business.